Divinity of Women by Heather B. Moore & S. Kent Brown

I have read different books which discuss women of the Bible, but my first impression as I began reading Divinity of Women: Inspiration and Insights from Women of the Scriptures by Heather B. Moore and S. Kent Brown was different than previous books I’ve read. The authors’ approach was fresh and simple instead of information dense like some books I’ve read which rely heavily on scholarly research. Their uninhibited discussion led to enjoyable reading and lots of new insights.

In Divinity of Women we are introduced to women one by one, a chapter at a time. I like how the authors divide their book into different sections, which in turn highlight the unique gifts and contributions of scriptural women while subtly emphasizing what gifts and insights they shared with each other in given section. That organizational approach alone gave me greater insight into the women Moore and Brown highlight throughout their book.

The portraits of women that introduce each section are beautiful and add to the insights shared in this book. Also, I really liked the selected scripture verses that introduce the women because I felt each verse focused so well the divine essence of each unique woman even before the authors shared their thoughts. The authors’ insights are perceptive yet scripturally accurate, and I found the scripture references at the end of each chapter helpful.

I was surprised how much I learned through the thoughtful and careful discussion surrounding each woman, but I must say I was profoundly touched by the beautiful chapter on Mother Eve. Whether you are a scholar of the scriptures or an average reader of the scriptures like most of us, you will be touched with the beauty and insights of this new book about women in the scriptures and how much they mirror women today in their joys and challenges.

I rarely read books more than once, but I will read this book again for sure. Moore and Brown have written a classic! Thank you. Heather B. Moore sent me a complimentary eBook of Divinity of Women to review.

Leave a Reply

