Courageous by Dina L. Sleiman

Courageous, Book Thee of the Valiant Heart is a historical novel that introduces us to the medieval holy Crusades within the Roman Empire. I was captivated by the Sleiman boldness to tackles this historical period. I like the strong female characters that Sleiman creates in her Valiant Heart series. Despite the well-developed main characters of Rosalind and Randel, I found the supporting characters in Courageous not particularly intriguing, and I felt that influenced the overall effectiveness of this novel having a truly compelling plot.

Additionally, while it seemed that Sleiman spent some time on background information, I felt as the story progressed I still did not have a good grasp of the historical setting. I found myself rereading too much to try and orient myself, and that detracted from the flow of the plot. In short, I found this novel rather tedious read. Bethany House gave me a complimentary copy of Courageous by Dina L Sleiman for my candid review.

Leave a Reply

