A Dangerous Legacy by Elizabeth Camden

Well worth reading! What do plumbing, the Associated Press, and a pearl necklace have in common? Elizabeth Camden delivers a new compelling historical romance in her recent novel A Dangerous Legacy. Lucy and her brother Nick are mired in a family lawsuit that is wearing them down. Just when Lucy thinks it can’t get worse, it does. When Colin, the director of AP’s competing news agency Reuters, inadvertently involves himself in Lucy’s lawsuit, Lucy finds herself in more than one quagmire.

Full of authentic characters, tough decisions and lots of unexpected plot twists, Camden both delights and informs readers in this well written historical novel. With deft literary skills and solid historical evidence, Camden creates a memorable story of progress, and the exacting price that progress requires from the people who make it happen. Bethany House gave me a complimentary copy of A Dangerous Legacy by Elizabeth Camden for my candid review.


The Heart Only Grows by Michele Paige Holmes

I loved it! This story touched my heart. The newest Timeless Romance Single, The Heart Only Grows by Michele Paige Holmes was a thoughtful, poignant, well written historical story about the Orphan Train. Addie, an orphan herself, is determined to ride the orphan train to see the children placed in the best homes possible. Addie’s heart struggles as she sees some of the children left behind in hard circumstances, and Daniel and Sarah might not find a home unless she separates the siblings.

With hope diminishing, Addie meets the sheriff in a small town and receives an offer of a home for Daniel and Sarah together if she accepts a proposal of marriage and stays with them. Holmes weaves a powerful story full of full of heartache, tragedy, love, acceptance and hope. With genuine characters and unpredictable plot twists, The Heart Only Grows is masterfully written. I received a complimentary copy of The Heart Only Grows by Michele Paige Holmes for my candid review.

Falling for a Duke: Timeless Regency Romance Collection

Falling for a Duke is another charming release from the Timeless Regency Collection. Ceanna, Elizabeth, and Madeline are three young adult women who each find themselves in the company of a duke for less than ideal reasons. Authors Nichole Van, Rebecca Connolly, and Janelle Daniels create well written stories with resilient characters that entertain, amuse, and charm. Great characters, unexpected plots and fun along the way, Falling for a Duke is entertaining reading. I received a complimentary copy of Falling for a Duke: Timeless Regency Collection for my candid review.

An Inconvenient Beauty by Kristi Ann Hunter

I liked it! The newest release in the Hawthorne House series does not disappoint. An Inconvenient Beauty introduces us to a whole new side of Griffith, Duke of Riverton, and the quandary he faces when trying to approach courtship with a methodical, pre-planned approach. What he didn’t plan on was the woman of his dreams interrupting his plans at every turn.

Well written, and fun to read, author Kristi Ann Hunter delivers another entertaining tale of life and love, choices and consequences, and hope and redemption. Full of strong, authentic characters, and the same eccentric Hawthorne family, the expected turns quickly to the unexpected. I really liked the genuineness of Miss Isabella Breckenridge and how she works so painfully and realistically through the consequences of her choices. Bethany House gave me a complimentary copy of An Inconvenient Beauty by Kristi Ann Hunter for my candid review.

The Promise of Dawn by Lauraine Snelling

A touching story of heartache and hope by Lauraine Snelling. Realizing that Norway doesn’t have many opportunities, Rune and Signe Carlson immigrate to Minnesota with their young sons. At the mercy of relatives who paid their way, the Carlsons struggle to adapt to their new life in America. With relentless work and unexpected trials, they hope for a better future but wonder how soon that opportunity will come.

I love how author Lauraine Snelling captures so well the emotion and heartache of leaving family and homeland, the unfamiliarity and fear of living in a new country, and the unrelenting discipline of the immigrants who had to work so hard to survive and to hope. Well written and full of tender and poignant emotion, The Promise of Dawn is a promising beginning to Snelling’s Under Northern Skies series. Bethany House gave me a complimentary copy of The Promise of Dawn by Lauraine Snelling for my candid review.